Skip to content

Veggie With a Bad Rap

19 January 2010

Fear, loathe, horror, disgust . . . All things I’ve heard in reference to Brussels sprouts.  So it was with some trepidation that I embarked on dinner tonight.  Lately it seems that this vegetable has been every where. I’ve seen it in magazines, on blogs, on TV. I couldn’t remain out of the loop, so I decided to give them a try. Verdict = not too shabby. I mean they aren’t broccoli (the love of my vegetable eating heart), but they are good, and I will definitely eat them again.

I used most of a Rachael Ray magazine recipe and I added bacon and deleted candied almonds. It ended up being Brussels Sprouts, Bow Ties, and Bacon. I roasted the sprouts in the oven with some olive oil, salt and garlic. I cooked some bacon and then basically followed the recipe from there. To be fair; little can taste bad when mixed with bacon and goat cheese. It was a really nice warm dinner to eat on this snowy, snowy day.

100_0293

Tomorrow, I’m not going into work because I have a doctor’s appointment. It will be nice to sleep in. Also, I’m going to my first spin class. I’m a little nervous, but everyone says it’s a great work out. We’ll see.

 

This is post 101. I’ve been keeping a blog on and off apparently for the last 5 years. It’s crazy. I read a few of my old posts last night and while a lot of things have changed (I’m not in grad school anymore; thank goodness) a lot of things are still the same (I’m muddling my way through the kitchen).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 21 January 2010 10:16 pm

    This site was such a pleasure to visit. Your veggie wrap looks great! Well presented, clean, clear and beautiful photos. I shall be returning for another delicious bite. Thank you for sharing,
    Cheers, Gaby
    You can visit me at http://ptsaldari.posterous.com and subscribe.

    • cbrazas permalink*
      21 January 2010 10:39 pm

      Gaby,
      Thanks for the sweet comment. I’ve added you to my Google reader. Getting to Know your Chef was very interesting.

  2. Stacey Steeger permalink
    25 January 2010 10:46 pm

    Oh Clarice, brussel sprouts have become my favorite vegetable. Roasted or sauteed until blackened ( the blackened edges are important it seems) and they are my favorite part of any meal. Who knew!? Jason made us try them last year, and I an so glad I did. If you ever have any truffle oil in the house, add a little to the sprouts, it really makes them come alive 🙂

    • cbrazas permalink*
      25 January 2010 11:02 pm

      Jeremy’s not a huge fan, but I see many more of them in my future. I’ll gladly keep them to myself and not share. Thanks for the comment. I hope you’re doing well.

Leave a comment