Skip to content

Mediterranean Feast

5 July 2010

A few weeks ago Brandi made pitas.  They looked so good and so easy; I knew I had to try them. I used a combination of recipes. I used all the ingredients from, what has become my breadmaker bible, The Breadmachine Cookbook by Donna Rathmell German and the process from The Fresh Loaf.

IMG_3107 IMG_3117

IMG_3125

I guess I wanted to feel closer to my Middle Eastern sisters because it is hot today. Cranking my oven up to 500 degrees won’t be at the top of my list of things to do again for awhile. But temperature is really what makes these babies pop. The hotter I got the oven the rounder they got.

The pitas turned out awesome. I know a lot of people love making bread by hand and I think one day I might too, but in my one countertop kitchen, I find it more frustrating that enjoyable. For now, the breadmaker is for me. We’re still getting fresh bread where I control the ingredients, so I’m happy.

In addition to these awesome pitas, I made homemade hummus, falafel and Giada’s Herbed Quinoa.

IMG_3132 Mint, Basil, Cilantro, and Chives from the garden.  I added feta and tomatoes to Giada’s recipe and used the herbs I had on hand.

IMG_3139

The herbed quinoa was really good. I can’t wait to eat the leftovers. I baked the falafel, from a mix. It was just ok and not done at the beginning of the meal.

IMG_3136

This meal was so filling.  The only thing I finished all of were my carrots.

In keeping with No More Grocery Store, everything but the tomatoes was on hand or in the garden. I didn’t know I had the quinoa until today.

It’s time for me to kick back and watch The Secret Life of an American Teenager (oneof my faves). I’ll probably sit on a pillow though, my first spin class in months has left my rump sore.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

