Skip to content

Celebrate, Celebrate

12 June 2010

First most of my day for the next few days will have the soundtrack of the vuvuzela. The  vuvuzela is the South African plastic horn that sounds like a host of bees. There was much talk of it being banned at the World Cup, but local culture won out, BULLY! If you never heard it, just turn on the World Cup anytime from 7AM – 5PM and you will hear it. FIFA says,

Evidently, the vuvuzela is deeply entrenched in football culture in a country fiercely dedicated to staging an unforgettable FIFA World Cup. "It is African culture, we are in Africa and we have to allow them to practice their culture as much as they want to," said FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter.

I get that it is cultural, but every once in  awhile I could use a break. I’m happy for South Africa though, and I hope everything goes smoothly.


Now onto my title. I got a new job. YAY! I am really excited about this. There are lots of pros about this new job:

  • It’s 15 minutes from home instead of 45
  • I’ll have my own classroom
  • Basically there is only one prep instead of four
  • The school is nice and small
  • I’ll get to see a mixture of students

It’s going to be great! I will really miss some of my students and some of my co-workers. However, overall I think this is the right choice.

Last night Jeremy and I went out to celebrate at the Blue Mermaid Island Grill. The Blue Mermaid is on “The Hill” in Portsmouth. We’d never been before, but I really liked it. The food and atmosphere were great. While it was pricier than a place we’d go on a regular basis, it was  perfect for a celebration.  Best service I’ve had in awhile.

IMG_2668

One of my favorite parts of eating out in Italy was that meals lasted forever. A server there never brought out one thing until you were obviously finished and ready. That style of eating lends itself to relaxing conversation not shoveling food in before it gets cold. We got the same type of service last night at the Blue Mermaid. We decided to order several small plates.

We started with Mermaid Fundito. This was by far my favorite of the three plates we shared.

IMG_2675

I could have kept eating this all night and fully intend to try to make it myself. The mix was sharp cheddar, pale ale, fire-roasted tomatoes and chili. There was baguette and pumpernickel for dipping. 

The next plate, Saddle Bags, was my least favorite. These were crispy chicken and cheese filled wontons.

IMG_2677

I thought it was way too salty. I only ate one. Jeremy said the saltiness was what made it good.

The last plate was Tortilla Pizza with Chicken. At this point, I was getting full so I didn’t finish the one piece I took. 

IMG_2679 I loved how chocked full of veggies this pizza was, but there was A LOT of cheese. As you can see.

I had a great drink with grapefruit and basil. It was so savory. It came with a pretty little blue mermaid.

IMG_2680

After eating and walking around for awhile, we ended the night at Popovers on the Square.  I had my favorite plain, vanilla cheesecake in the world. Jeremy had turtle cheesecake. I’m the only one with half a piece left to enjoy today though.

IMG_2683 IMG_2686

  

Lots more fun left for this weekend USA vs England this afternoon, Chili with friends tonight, and tomorrow NH Wine Festival. Are you watching World Cup?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 12 June 2010 11:11 am

    you’re in portsmouth?? my parents just moved to texas from there. i was there for a week helping them pack… wish i’d known 😦

    • 12 June 2010 11:17 am

      BTW, congrats on the job! what will you be teaching?

    • Clarice permalink
      12 June 2010 12:12 pm

      Thanks. We’re near Portsmouth, NH. I think your parents were in VA. I’ll be teaching grade 10 English.

      • 12 June 2010 12:13 pm

        ah, new hampshire. i feel a little better now. 😉

  2. 24 June 2010 9:58 am

    Congratulations on the new job! Oh and that food just looks delish!

    • Clarice permalink
      26 June 2010 12:46 pm

      Thanks. I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

