Skip to content

Chicken Quesadilla Pie

7 June 2010

Today was nice and cool in New England. A good way to ease into the week. Overall, I love warm weather, but my classroom turns into a little mini-furnace when it’s hot out. The day was pretty good even though I was a little sore from yesterday’s run.

I decided to try a few new recipes this week; my meal planning has been in kind of a rut. But now that I’m thinking about it, this barely counts as new because we eat quesadillas almost every week. My inspiration came from Real Simple. Their recipe is fine, but I changed almost everything to match what I had. I used Cabot 50% reduced fat cheese half cheddar and half jalapeno. I cooked chicken instead of using rotisserie, salsa instead of enchilada sauce, low fat sour cream instead of heavy cream and green pepper instead of zucchini. The very last difference was that I added a layer of black beans and only three layers of tortillas.  I don’t know precisely how many calories I cut out with my changes but I’m guessing quite a few.

IMG_2634

This meal was so good. I cooked the chicken in salsa giving everything a slow cooked flavor. I also love meals that cook for about 20 – 30 minutes, so you can get everything cleaned up before you sit down to eat. This is a great weeknight meal with leftovers and could easily be made vegetarian. If fact, if Jeremy weren’t here, I probably wouldn’t have bothered with chicken.  Considering our love of quesadillas this will definitely go on the keep list.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 June 2010 3:17 am

    It looks really yummy. It sounds like a wonderful snack. I love it.

    • Clarice permalink
      8 June 2010 8:58 am

      This was a great dinner. I’m looking forward to perusing some of your recipes.

  2. 9 June 2010 11:49 am

    Sounds like a delicious and easy dinner- thanks for sharing! And thank you from the farm families who own Cabot for using Cabot cheese 🙂
    ~Jacquelyn

    • 9 June 2010 4:43 pm

      Thanks for running small farms, so my cheese doesn’t come from just a big factory farm some where.

Leave a Reply

