Skip to content

Will Run for Beer

6 June 2010

I woke up this morning with some dread. The weather forecast was not good. 85% chance of thunderstorms, and we were supposed to run the last 5K in the Will Run for Beer series. On Jan 1st I had never run a 5K, now I’ve run three 5K’s and a Four Miler.

When I got up I was not hungry at all, I choked down half a serving of oatmeal and ate half of a banana. Jeremy and I went for a little warm up jog around the block, stretched and then hung out.  Since this race was in our town, we didn’t have to worry about driving or parking and no porta-potties! This was definitely a highlight.

Newmarket was all a buzz with people. Today was the day that everyone who ran five or more races got their jackets. It seemed that everyone was in a good mood. The weather miraculously held, and we made the whole race and after party without rain.

My goal for the race was to run the whole way, remember I am not a runner.  At the beginning of the race someone who is a runner, met up with me – Miriam from Adventures of a Filly Runner.  Miriam was fresh off the Pinelands 50K; that’s right Five Oh. She injured her quad which almost slowed her down enough to run with me. She and Jeremy pushed me right along and helped me PR 35:33 (I know I’m slow, but it’s a three minute improvement) . Thanks guys, you’re the best.

0606001138 Taken with Miriam’s phone – It’s a good shot.

It was so cool to run all the way and to run in our own town, even past our house. I Y Newmarket.

After the race there was beer, pizza, and music.

102_0532

All in all it was a great day. The big storm did end up hitting, and I am really glad we weren’t all out in it.

Dinner was simple. Leftover Asian Cabbage salad from yesterday and Trader Joe’s Pot Stickers. Surprisingly, I only liked theses pot stickers.

IMG_2630

I like mine to have a lot of veggies. I guess I’ll have to go back to making my own. They did contribute to a very easy dinner though.

Thanks to all the great sponsors – Smuttynose Brewing Co., Bear Naked (still my favorite granola cereal), Squamscott Soda, Loco Running, and Loco Mike for all of his hard work.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    7 June 2010 1:13 pm

    sounds like a great race! And congrats on the PR 🙂

Leave a Reply

