Skip to content

One of Those Days

25 May 2010

I am a planner. That is a declaration.

Before my Europe trip, I planned for months multiple Excel sheets were made and many itineraries.  In general, I arrive to things early. I prepare for meetings in advance. I make my lesson plans for the following week  on Thursday.  With all of these things you can imagine how I prepare for an interview.

Today I was supposed to have an interview. I found clothes to wear. I went for a jog last night. I updated my professional portfolio. I left work at a precise time and arrived for my interview 20 minutes early.

Side note – today it was 90 degrees in NH and the AC in the car is broken.

I arrived at the school where I was supposed to interview and all the doors were locked. Sign one that things are not going to go my way. So I stand outside in my suit with the sun beating down on me. My make up has begun to run, I am sweating profusely. (nothing but honesty here folks) I begin to run through a list of what ifs. What if I have the wrong location, what if I have the wrong day etc. etc. Finally, a gym teacher lets me into the building, and I meet the dean of students. He checks the schedule; I am in fact supposed to be there. The school seems empty. He makes an all call on the loud speaker; nothing. He walks the halls; nothing. The people who are supposed to interview me are not there!

In a word, I am disappointed. The dean of students was very gracious and apologized profusely. He also set up an interview for me for tomorrow afternoon.

Let’s hope this one happens. I can’t handle this sort of stress and anxiety. This is a job I really want that I think would be a great fit for me.  I hope that this delay doesn’t ruin my chances at this school.

Pizza and a little TV therapy (Biggest Loser and Glee)  should make everything better.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 May 2010 8:59 am

    oh man, that stinks! What in the world happened that no one was at school?

    I hope today is better 🙂

    • Clarice permalink
      26 May 2010 11:11 am

      Thanks Brandi. I hope so too.

Leave a Reply

