Skip to content

Moose!

22 May 2010

The last few days have been so busy. On Thursday I left school early, Jeremy and I met some friends from Texas in Salem, MA. It was so good to see people from so far away and hear a Texas accent again. What some people up here may not understand is that some southern accents, specifically a Texas accent, can be very comforting. We ate lunch at Salem Beer Works, and I had one of the best pizzas I’ve had since Italy. It was called the Fenway.  Horrible name but the pesto was just right, not too much of a licorice flavor, and the tomatoes burst when you bit them.

IMG_2287

After lunch, we headed to the Salem Witch Museum, which I’ve now been to three times. People love a diorama. After the museum we went to the House of Seven Gables.

IMG_2289 IMG_2290 For pure nerd reference a gable is a triangle peak on a sloping roof. The tour was great but some of the people on the tour were really annoying. They were the type of people who try to inform the tour guide of their “own findings.” It was a beautiful spring  day with lots of sunshine and warmth. We wandered around, stopping and sitting in the shade when we felt like it.

Friday was another sunshine day with a twist. During my prep I was sitting at my desk just minding my own business. Another teacher came into the room saying, “There’s a moose! A moose!” Side Note: I have been trying to see a moose every since I moved to NH. We have hiked and camped and never seen a moose. The moose was very young and obviously lost. It finally ran away. I hope it made it back to some safe place. By a stroke of luck I had my camera at school today.

moose2

moose7

moose4

Seeing a moose during the day at school obviously created lots of chaos and rowdy students. It took me a few minutes to get my freshmen down from a full boil to a simmer.

After school I chaperoned a barbeque. Jeremy came to hang out with me. When we got home at 6:30, he watered the garden and then we fell asleep for four  hours. Oops! It’s now 1 am. Oh well.

Have you ever seen a moose? I still want to see one in the wilds of Northern New Hampshire.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 May 2010 9:05 am

    I have seen a moose but it was in Yellowstone National Park. I love MOOSE! I have a friend who lives in Northern, NH and she recently sent me a picture text of a Moose that read “only in NH”.

    I also love Salem – beautiful pics of the House of Seven Gables.

  2. 2 June 2010 11:30 am

    I’ve actually had a moose in my yard in Candia. She walked within a few feet of me. http://blondepoodle.com/2009/04/baby-moose/

Leave a Reply

