Skip to content

Nitrate Free Bacon

19 May 2010

Last summer Jeremy ate some nitrate free pepperoni, and he hated it. He’s been a little prejudice about anything nitrate free since then; saying, “that’s where all the flavor is.” I didn’t try the nitrate free pepperoni, so I really wanted to give it a whirl. This week I bought Coleman All Natural bacon at the grocery store. It’s not local but it is vegetarian fed, no antibiotics, no hormones added. This was the only bacon I saw at the store without nitrates.

Here’s the good news, it was delicious. I don’t know what was wrong with that pepperoni, but this bacon was great. Tons of flavor, salty but not overly so, and crispy.

IMG_2275

Apparently I bought chicken from Coleman a few weeks ago. If you go to their website and fill out the survey, you can get five different coupons.  Here is an article from Real Simple about nitrates. I know super scientific huh?

Why they’re unhealthy: Nitrates have been linked to infant methemoglobinemia, a deficiency of oxygen in the blood. Also, nitrate can interact with the amines in protein to form nitrosamines, which have been linked to cancer in lab animals.

I honestly didn’t really know what was wrong with nitrates until I started surfing around. Before this I only knew they were “bad” and that pregnant women weren’t allowed to eat lunch meat because of them. Basically, they don’t really know if nitrates cause cancer in humans, but it seems pretty likely.  While I will certainly try to avoid nitrates, I love a nice turkey sandwich; at my grocery store there are no all natural lunch meat options. I’ll also be looking for some bacon options at my next farmer’s market.

To accompany our bacon, we had some French toast on this cold, rainy day.

IMG_2279

I’ve posted about bacon feelings in the past here and here– if you’re a new reader.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 21 May 2010 3:31 pm

    well that was informative. I had no idea about nitrates. I’m glad you liked the nitrate free bacon.

Leave a Reply

