Skip to content

TV Thursday – Parenthood

13 May 2010

If you’ve known me very long, you know I watch a lot of TV. I moved a lot as a kid and there were times when I didn’t have a lot of friends. I’m totally ok with that because I found three amazing things 1) Books 2) TV 3) Movies. I know there are numerous negative things about TV, but quite frankly the ability to escape reality that books, TV, and movies give you is something that shouldn’t be totally discounted.

My new favorite escape is Parenthood. If you aren’t watching it, you should be. Tuesdays at 10pm. I have to watch OnDemand, because 10 is my bedtime.

This show is in some ways an updated version of The Walton’s (although obviously more risqué), with a little thirtysomething, and Gilmore Girls thrown in for good measure. The writing is funny but still shows the full of the gamut of other emotions you feel in a real family. If you previously watched Gilmore Girls, expect all the same whit and odd references in this show.

This leads me to the cast, Lauren Graham is just a darn good actress. It’s so easy to believe her in her role as Sarah – not much of a jump from Lorelai. The rest of the cast is equally talented with many familiar faces. There’s Erika Christiansen (The Upside of Anger), Peter Krause (Six Feet Under), Craig T. Nelson (Coach), and lastly one of my favorite kid actors Mae Whitman (seriously she’s been in everything from Hope Floats to Arrested Development). There seem to be no minor characters in this show.  The picture below doesn’t even have the cutest kid on the show Tyree Brown/Jabbar.

My last gush is about the cinematography; thanks to Ron Howard, this is the most beautifully filmed TV show I’ve ever seen.  Sometimes I get so caught up in a shot that I have to remind myself I am watching TV not a movie.  Ron Howard must have his hands all over this show because it is just so much better than most of what is out there.

Those are my TV thoughts for the week. If you want a show that will make you feel good and probably, if you’re family is anything like mine, remind you home, watch Parenthood.

Do you watch Parenthood or have another favorite TV show?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 15 May 2010 2:29 am

    I just started watching Parenthood a few weeks ago. It’s in my Hulu queue now. 🙂 And if the “cutest kid” is Crosby’s son, then yes, I agree. EVERY time he’s in a scene, I’m amazed how my much I just want to pinch his cheeks. Haha!

Leave a Reply

