Skip to content

Makes Mouths Happy

3 May 2010

Basically every week I plan our meals in advance. I do this to save money, to prevent wastefulness, and to not be stuck without meals and go out during the week. Sometimes you make a meal that will your husband happy.

While I was grocery shopping today, I saw these drum sticks on sale.

IMG_2062

My meal plan went out the window, I knew Jeremy had a long day and that fried chicken would make him quite happy. Before I go on, A) We don’t normally eat this way B) I was born in VA so sometimes Southern cooking is in order.

Soak the chicken in buttermilk or just plain milk, depending on what you have on hand.  Mix flour, salt, pepper, and paprika together. Coat each piece in the flour mixture. Alton says the oil should be about 325 and the chicken should cook on each side for about 10 – 12 minutes.

When you finish, it should look like this.

IMG_2067

IMG_2066

To accompany Jeremy’s fried chicken, I made him some smashed potatoes topped with cheese I got at the last farmer’s market from Hickory Nut Farm. While I love eating local goat cheese, this wasn’t my favorite. The peppercorns are just too large.

IMG_2070

IMG_2073

If you’ve ever made fried chicken, you know it is truly an act of love. It’s hot, the oil pops, and it’s an all around messy experience.   But when you finish, if you’re lucky, you get to see a face like this.

IMG_2076

Happy Monday! I’m off to finish season one of Big Bang Theory with Jeremy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 4 May 2010 9:30 am

    fun dinner 🙂 Fried chicken made in a cast iron pan is UNBEATABLE! That’s our favorite way to do it at home, too.

    And what a deal on that chicken!

Leave a Reply

