Skip to content

Denver – Day 3 pt. 1

1 May 2010

We woke up to a little bit of snow on Monday morning.

The Pike’s Peak Cog train was awaiting us, so we headed out after “enjoying” our free continental breakfast. 

IMG_1653

Due to seven feet of snow on the tracks, we were unable to make the summit. What we could see was beautiful. It is the highest elevation I’ve ever been at; we were really up there. The cog has been running since the late 1800’s.  It’s a great way to see the the mountain. I can’t imagine climbing out there with the elevation.

 IMG_1606 

I had a little anxiety, but overall it was a great way to spend the morning.

 IMG_1631

IMG_1734If you look in the distance you can see Garden of the Gods.

After Pike’s Peak, we were pretty hungry. We headed down into the town of Maintou Springs for some lunch. Because it was a Monday, most of the stores and restaurants were closed.  PJ’s Bistro was open, and it was great. The restaurant was basically empty. I ordered pierogis, and all I can say is wow. The Polish are smart people for putting together mashed potatoes and pasta together. The outside was crispy and the inside was just so flavorful.

IMG_1765

The girls had chicken wraps.

IMG_1763

After lunch, I really wanted something sweet, and Jamie and I were in desperate need of coffee.

Enter IMG_1776 Coquette Creperie.

I loved this place. Neither of these places felt like tourist traps, and I would definitely eat at either place if they were here in NH.

IMG_1770 IMG_1773

Even though I only ordered jam, the chef gave me some macerated strawberries as well. These strawberries were tart and basically perfect. I must try to make them on my own. The liquor really added to the taste.

After tasting some mineral water (which was gross), we headed to Garden of the Gods.

IMG_1784

 

Up next Garden of the Gods and Steuben’s of Denver (a foodies delight).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

