Skip to content

Dr. Parnassus and Friendly French Toast

13 March 2010

Last night Jeremy and I decided we needed to go out. I tend to get antsy in spring and I just want to go. This time last year we went to Montreal, which was amazing. In a few weeks, I’m meeting a friend in Denver to explore a little bit of Colorado. But for this week, a night out would have to do.

First, we went to see The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus at the Music Hall in Portsmouth. I really just love going there; it was built in 1878 and still looks like it, except for the amazing bathrooms which are renovated and seriously the nicest bathroom I’ve ever been in. The seats, while maybe not original, are old and not the most comfortable; however, the whole experience is totally worth it.

100_9559 100_9567 

 

 

100_9565  I’ve been known in the past to sneak in things like my favorite cheesecake.

 

 

 

 

 

The movie was interesting and has so many stars I enjoy watching like Christopher Plummer, Johnny Depp, Jude Law and of course Heath Ledger.  This movie was really different (Directed by Tery Gilliam of Monty Python fame), and I while there were parts that I really enjoyed it felt more like going to an art show than seeing a movie.

After the movie, Jeremy and I walked over to The Friendly Toast. Seriously, why anyone around here goes to IHOP is beyond me. The Friendly Toast is a breakfast lovers dream. If you come to Portsmouth, NH you really must go.  This place is all about kitsch, and I love it.  For example there is a giant fake helicopter hanging in the corner. 100_0428

The tables are all from the 50’s and 60’s and you eat off of melamine plates. The servers are all tattooed, pierced, and extremely friendly.  There’s one in Cambridge now as well. I had French toast made of Anadama (corn meal and molasses) bread, and Jeremy had a Heath Bar pancake. Jeremy said, and I quote, “It’s like eating a candy bar wrapped in a pancake; delicious!” Also the food is huge.

100_0430

It was a much needed, great night out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

