Skip to content

Ahh Vacation

23 February 2010

The last few days have been crazy. Thursday I had to stay at school until 8. By the time I got home, I fell asleep within the hour. Friday, Jeremy and I had to get everything ready for our weekend trip to Virginia for my Nana’s birthday.  Saturday through Monday, we were in VA. This week is my February break from school, and it is a wonderful thing. I have a lot of things planned for this time (cooking, baking, sewing a new apron and of course laundry). I love being at home and doing all the things I enjoy.

After being offline for basically 5 days, I had a lot of blog reading to catch up on; so this morning I lounged in bed and had some reading time.  Once I finally decided to get up, I watched The View and ate leftover Thai for brunch. While I was enjoying The View, I created a meal plan for the week by pulling out multiple cook books. Being at home, means I can cook things that take a little longer.

  • Picci di Peppe w/Roasted Brussel sprouts and prosciutto (w/ a little help from Giada)
  • Veggie Pot Pie (Gourmet Today)
  • Veggie Burgers w/ Homemade buns
  • Boeuf Bourguignon (The Joy of Cooking)

Being able to just chill at home in the middle of the day is great. I finally ordered a new battery for my laptop. As I was calling Best Buy and watching Food Network, I heard Giada say “pepe.” I turned off my phone and paid attention.

The best meal I had in Italy last summer, was Pici de Pepe e Cacio. Basically, it’s a very specific type of Pasta (that I’ve yet to find in the States), pepper and hard cheese.  102_9736 102_9743

I looked for a recipe when I got back and had trouble finding one but there it was on TV. I was so excited. While I was in Italy, I bought a bag of the Pici. It was dragged all over Italy and France, but made it back just fine.

I decided tonight was the night to eat it. Part of me was really sad to eat it, as I don’t know when I’ll be able to get more; you can basically only buy it in Siena.

I roasted some Brussels’ sprouts with Prosciutto and garlic. I picked up a loaf of rosemary and olive oil bread as well.

102_9749

It was a great meal.

I’ll be posting about the VA trip, and the wonderful barbecue I ate  at a restaurant in Richmond that beat Bobby Flay in a throw down.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 24 February 2010 10:17 am

    glad you had a good trip! I’m sad I don’t live closer to Richmond 🙂

    • cbrazas permalink*
      24 February 2010 6:15 pm

      I know. It would have been so cool to see you guys.

Leave a Reply

