Skip to content

Spin and Strata

2 February 2010

Today was  a much better day, while there were angry students and angry parents, I had a better attitude. One thing that helped was getting a good nights sleep. I went to be a little early and laughed my head off rereading some David Sedaris. His essay “In the Waiting Room,” is one of my favorite things. If you’ve never read Sedaris or heard him NPR, he is really quite funny and has his own perspective of the world.  After work, I went to the grocery store, which was of course picked over Monday. I managed to get the majority of things I needed.

After bringing home the groceries, I got dressed and went to spin. The class kicked my butt tonight.  It was good workout, even though my legs are really tired.

Once spin was over I dropped my friend off  and then  Jeremy and I made dinner. I’ve seen strata all over the place lately, and it has looked so warm and easy that I wanted to give it a try. It was as easy and good as I’d imagined.  I’m not sure if the bread is supposed to go on the bottom or the top. Having it on the top made it really crunchy, which I loved. Next time I’ll either keep it there or do small layer at the bottom and then some on the top.  This strata included: bacon, broccoli, baguette, swiss cheese, red onion, green pepper, and of course eggs and milk.

102_9688

This is something I will definitely make again; it hit the spot.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 February 2010 9:36 am

    glad it was a better day 🙂

    We’ve been loving stratas lately! I usually mix the bread and everything else together – some of the cubes are soft and the top is crunchy. Yum.

  2. 7 February 2010 10:54 am

    I made a strata recently too! Sooo good! Yours looks tasty and I love your ingredients. 🙂

  3. cbrazas permalink*
    7 February 2010 5:21 pm

    Thanks Diana. Congrats on your Zumba performance.

Leave a Reply

