Skip to content

Such a Better Spin Class + a Protein Packed Dinner

26 January 2010

I tried spin again tonight and it was the RPM version. This class was SOOOO much better than the last one. I think it has little to do with it being an Les Mills class and everything to do with the instructor.  Christine was perky, but not obnoxious and more importantly friendly and helpful. She helped my friend and I set up our bikes from the handlebars all the way down to pedals. My ride was so much more comfortable than last time, thanks to her. I will definitely be going back. Comfortable, by the way, does not mean easy. After my long first day of semester 2, pushing through the tension was just what I needed.

Before class, I ate half of a Carrot Cake Cliff bar; but when I got home, I was famished.  Which means, I was really excited to know that there was homemade chicken chili waiting for me. This chili was just spicy enough and so hearty.  It is a protein packed, extremely low fat meal. I felt so full and satisfied after I ate.  The Jiffy corn muffin didn’t hurt anything either.

102_9667

Chicken Chili

102_9669

Ingredients:

  • Crushed Tomatoes, 1 280z can
  • Chicken Breast, no skin, 1.5 – 2 pounds
  • Red Onion, 1 cup, chopped
  • Green Peppers 1 cup, chopped
  • Red Paper Flakes 3 tbsp
  • Chili powder, 3 tbsp
  • Salt, 1 tbsp (to taste, I use kosher salt)
  • Water 1 Cup
  • Dark Red Kidney Beans, 3 15oz can
  • Black Beans 15oz cans
  • Tomato Sauce, 1 15oz can

Steps:

  1. I added the first 8 ingredients in the crock pot this morning and set it on 10 hours (which is my lowest setting).
  2. When I came home, I pulled apart the chicken which took less than two minutes.
  3. Next, I added the beans and tomato sauce.
  4. I restarted the crock pot on med-low for another 2 hours.

I ran the stats on SparkPeople; using their recipe calculator. I estimated six servings, but you might be able to get eight.  At six servings, there are 385 calories, 3 grams of fat, and 26 grams of protein. This chili tastes so good that I was sure there would be far more calories.  This is a great week night meal, and it will be even better tomorrow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. amyrob permalink
    28 January 2010 4:11 am

    That chili sounds fantastic. I’m all about high protein meals and anything that combines both chicken and beans is a winner in my book 🙂 Also, we have tomatoes coming ripe right now and I need to use them up! Thanks for sharing

    • cbrazas permalink*
      28 January 2010 7:47 pm

      I bet those tomatoes are way better than any we can get here. I hope you enjoy them.

  2. 28 January 2010 7:30 am

    Oh that chili looks great!

    • cbrazas permalink*
      28 January 2010 7:46 pm

      The leftovers were great too.

Leave a Reply

