Skip to content

Vegan for a Day

19 November 2009

Today I went Vegan for a day. There were ups and down. First, telling yourself you can’t have something (at least if your me) makes you want it. So, I periodically thought about bacon and cheese today; not to mention the miniature Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups kept  in my desk. However, Vegan for  a Day was really interesting. I learned that being a Vegan would be really difficult. Today really made me respect people who choose to be vegans. I was really surprised how many pre-made foods had some sort or animal by- product; eggs and milk being the most prevalent. I found out about Vegan for a Day from several Twitter/Blog accounts that I follow. I really read up on it at http://eatingjourney.com/  and http://sillytatertot.com/

Here’s how my eating went today:

  • I started with Oatmeal for breakfast with cinnamon.
    • This is not out of the ordinary for me. I eat this 4 or 5 days a week.
    • I also had coffee which I accidentally put creamer into. I did not think about this until after I had complete consumed the entire mug. The drogginess of morning prevented my brain from working.
  • For lunch, I had a Thai Kitchen Garlic Rice Noodles, an apple, and some Triscuts with PB.
    • I wanted to try something pre-made that was vegan. I don’t usually eat pre-made things for lunch.
  • Snack time brought around some delicious hummus with some pita.
    • In looking at Pitas; I found out that Naan is not vegan.
  • For dinner, I had this excellent sweet potato baked and prepared by my husband.

What is the overall impact of Vegan for a Day on me?  It has definitely made me more conscious about the ingredients in things I eat. While I probably won’t be going permanently Vegan anytime soon, I certainly have respect for people who are that committed to something. I hope in the future it becomes easier for people to make this food/lifestyle choice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 November 2009 10:21 pm

    I feel the same way — when I can’t have something…I want it even more! (You may have noticed that I solved my own Reese’s cravings with a bowl of peanut butter and vegan chocolate chips)

    I’m so glad that you and other bloggers embraced the challenge. I don’t know if I’ll stick with a vegan diet but I do know that it helped me re-focus my healthy eating habits. I really appreciate the support!

Trackbacks

  1. Almond Butter Pizza « Eating Journey
  2. Eating Journey

Leave a Reply

