Skip to content

It's Been Awhile. . .

24 September 2009

Work is finally getting into a flow, so hopefully I’ll be able to get back to more regular blogging. I really like blogging, which means I should do it more often.

Three things . . .

Thing  One

Work is going well, but some of my students are just wacky. Yesterday, one of my freshmen (with a 8 inch tall mohawk)  asked me if I wanted to see the skunk he had. I assumed he meant a picture and told him I would look at it after he did his work. He finished his work and asked if I would now look at his skunk. I said yes. He proceeded to pull out an actual skunk skin/coat/pelt; I don’t know what to call it. I was a little taken aback but have come to expect things like this. He said his dad had given it to him as a gift. He was really pretty happy about it and pretended like it was a puppet. There are crappy, crappy days at my job but things like make it pretty enjoyable sometimes.

Thing Two

Jeremy joined my gym. I guess that means that now it is our gym. Last fall and winter, I had a hard time getting to the gym. Time is so limited when we both get home that we wanted to be together.  Since we went to separate gyms, I usually ended up not going.  This fall has been  a lot better though. We’ve been working out frequently, and my jogging/running is definitely improving. It’s been fun to have someone to work out with. I’ve kept off all the weight that I lost in Europe. I would like to lose 10 more pounds.

Thing Three

Fall is here. Summer was short, but I still love fall. My friend Mindy is coming to visit the first weekend in October. We have a lot of great things planned: Apple Picking, Salem, MA, Books Sale. It should be great.

Fall also means baking. I made the best blueberry muffins I’ve ever had. They are a bit blurry. Sorry.

100_1357I started with a recipe from the cookbook Hearts and Flour and of course changed it all around. The topping is the best part in my opinion, which was not in the recipe. A mix of oats and wheat germ, nutty and delicious.

Keep checking. I will be blogging more frequently. My goal is three times a week.

When you bake do you follow the recipe or just see it as a suggestion? Leave your thoughts.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 26 September 2009 7:49 pm

    I’m glad you posted this (especially the picture of the muffins… mmmmm…) because I bought zucchini the other day to make bread and just remembered it’s waiting to be used. My mom always made zucchini bread when I was growing up and I like it a lot better than banana bread. I don’t have any bread pans, though, so I’ll have to make zucchini muffins. Haha. Anyway, my point is, you’re inspiring me to bake/cook more. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

